Nagcarlan Underground Cemetery
There’s more to Nagcarlan than just a quaint, little town located on the mountainside of Laguna. It holds one of the country’s most precious treasures.
The beautiful, rustic façade radiates the long gone years of the Philippines while the grills give a peek of the rich, green manicured grasses enclosed by walls.
Arched gates with iron-gate grills and old stonework depict Baroque-style architecture. Upon entering the grounds, an old chapel stands at the end of the pathway. It was built during under the Spanish ruling back in the mid-18th century, through the supervision of a Franciscan friar, Fr. Vicente Velloc. Apart from the church, Fr. Velloc also directed the construction of what is regarded as one of its kind in the Philippines – the underground cemetery built beneath Mt. San Cristobal.
The underground cemetery, situated 15 feet below the chapel, used to be an exclusive burial site for Spanish friars while according to others elite Catholic families were also buried there. Two flights down will lead to the tombs, where the oldest was dated 1886 and the record of the last burial service was on 1982.
The Filipino revolutionaries, better known as Katipuneros, sought shelter at the underground site in 1986, and provided them a secret hideaway where preparations for the battle were put together. Furthermore, the very same site served as a refuge to brave troopers who fought during the Filipino-American War and to guerillas of World War II.
Then in 1981, the Nagcarlan Underground Cemetery was declared as a National Historical Landmark.